Region:  Indonesia (formerly Dutch East Indies)

no map data found

Historical Overview

  • 1605: capture of Ambon from the Portuguese in the Spice Islands of Maluku
  • 1618: Jakarta is seized and razed, Batavia is founded as the headquarters of the Dutch East India Company (VOC)
  • 1800: the VOC is bankrupt, administration is nationalized as the Dutch East Indies
  • 1812–1815: British Interregnum
  • Early 20th c.: all of current territory of Indonesia under Dutch administration
  • 1945: Indonesian independence declared
  • 1949: Indonesian independence recognized by the Dutch following the Indonesian National Revolution
  • 1962: Dutch New Guinea transferred to Indonesia