Region:  Netherlands Antilles (Dutch West Indies)

no map data found

Historical Overview

Netherlands Antilles
(formerly Dutch West Indies)

  • 1630: St. Maarten is seized from the Spanish
  • 1633: the West India Company (WIC) claims Bonaire and Aruba
  • 1634: the WIC claims Curaçao (abandoned by the Spanish)
  • 1636: Zeeland colonizes St. Eustatius (Statia)
  • 1640: the first Dutch are on Saba
  • 1678: Saba, St. Maarten, and St. Eustatius are under the direct control of the WIC
  • 1954: the islands' status is upgraded from colonial territory to become part of the Kingdom of the Netherlands
  • 1986: Aruba secedes to become independent state within the Kingdom of the Netherlands
  • 2000–2004: referendums occur on all islands
  • 2005: Round Table Conference determines the future status of the Netherlands Antilles
  • 2010: the Netherlands Antilles are disbanded: Curaçao and St. Maarten are now independent states within the Kingdom of the Netherlands; Bonaire, Saba, and St. Eustatius are special municipalities comprising the Caribbean Netherlands.